Mary MacKillop Day

4

Posted by fcrescitelli | Posted in Uncategorized | Posted on August 10, 2017

On Tuesday, 8th August we celebrated the life of St. Mary of the Cross MacKillop. Mary was born on the 15th January, 1842 and died on the 8th August, 1909. Mary started the first St. Joseph school for poor and disadvantaged children. We celebrated Mary MacKillop Day with a variety of activities. The day began with a liturgy. Students from different classes shared activities they participated in about Mary MacKillop. There were paintings, charcoal sketches and songs.
During recess and lunch time, the Year Sevens organised stalls and fun activities in the middle yard. Some very brave teachers (and Mr Grbin) took part in the wet sponge throwing game. All donations went to The Mary MacKillop Foundation and the Cancer Council. After lunch, classes did an activity with their Buddy Class. It was a great day of celebrations!

20170810-115542.jpg

20170810-115629.jpg

20170810-115644.jpg

20170810-115653.jpg

20170810-115703.jpg

Comments (4)

I had a great day and I especially liked the stalls. My favourite stall was Back a Mole- the game on the 3rd picture. I think everybody enjoyed it as much as I did and had as much fun doing the games as I did.

–Tom πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

It was a really really fun day because Asha and I had to throw whipped cream at Asha’s sister. I also enjoyed the Wack A Mole game.

-Tina 😁

The stalls were so much fun that i just want to keep doing them again and again! I am sure everybody liked them

-Charlotte:)

It was really fun and I do agree with Tina It was fun throwing whipped cream at Ruby!! I didn’t play the wack a mole but I’m sure it was fun!! I do Remember making jokes about wack a mole and wackamoely the avocado sauce stuff. Tina If you look at the last picture Ella looks like Osana!! XD

Write a comment

Skip to toolbar